I run. I eat. I travel.

Chocolate Easter bunnies, beware!

 

The #40daysofeatingclean challenge is over and it’s been amazing. The support and spontaneous people that joined in meant so much to me and the things I’ve learned were priceless.

Screen Shot 2014-04-19 at 19.33.00

So, what were the most important lessons I’ve learnt during those 40 days?

 

First of all, 40 days without chocolate aren’t as impossible as it seems. It’s tough at times but it’s far from the level of suffering that I thought it’d involve.

 

Habit is everything. It’s amazing how fast your body adapts to new habits. And how fast you’ll get used to devoting those 15 mins to prepare something for work.

 

I’m a total sugar addict. Oh my God. I didn’t realise it was THAT bad until I found myself in all the (many many many) situations where I’d order some sugar bomb. The challenge has made me so much more aware and the decisions I’ll be making in the future will be made a lot more consciously.

 

Race days are the most wonderful cheat days ever. The feeling of ‘I DESERVE this’ is hard to beat.

 

I think it was super important to have a goal that I was working towards – with the half marathon coming closer and closer I could stay motivated way more easily.

 

Variety is key. I tried so many new and exciting recipes, mixed it up with all time favourites and was incredibly happy with the food I had at hand.

 

IMG_0670

 

I add sugar to things that NEED no additional sugar. That’s an easy one to cut out.

 

One more thing: baking cupcakes for others when it’s not cheat day sucks. It’s torture. The smell, the dough, the rising little miracles in the oven. And then you take them out, hot and sweet and perfect and… weeeell, nothing. Ugh.

 

I’ve created some new habits and I just generally listen a lot more to how my body responds to certain kinds of food. I’ve read a lot about the topic and loved it. My instagram follow list grew and grew and the timeline is now full of clean deliciousness that makes me hungry every time.

 

And: I looooove cheat days. Duuh.

 

IMG_0438crop

 

From now on, I won’t restrict my nutrition that much, but I’ll certainly look at patterns and question ingredients and just generally be more aware of what I eat. I couldn’t be more grateful that we were given the chance (and support!) to challenge ourselves.

Will I do it again? I think especially during times where I put lots of strain and physical stress on my body (lots of races, high levels of training) I benefit from paying that much attention to the fuel I’m giving my body. So I’ll take the learnings and I’ll try to implement as much as possible in my everyday life, but especially during race prep I could very well see myself to going back to eating completely clean. It ain’t so bad after all – or actually, let me rephrase that: it’s absolutely delicious, if it weren’t for the occasional bite of chocolate or scoop of ice cream 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

