I run. I eat. I travel.

True Blue

Going to Gallipoli for ANZAC Day made me realize why I miss Australia so much.

I’ve been debating with myself for the last few months whether my whole ‘I had the BEST time in Oz’ approach is just a kind of looking back and blocking out all bad things or whether it was actually that great. Being amongst thousands of Australians in Turkey has shown me that, no, it was actually that great. The heart-felt welcoming and openness made everything feel like a big family outing and I felt more at home that I should, given the fact that I still am Austrian and not Australian. I recognized so many songs, so many sayings, I even liked flat bread with Vegemite… but unfortunately there were neither Tim Tams nor ANZAC biscuits to find anywhere. We met the most amazing people, the most incredible volunteers that flew in from Austrialia just to make this incredible event possible, we saw a beautiful starry night, heard the hymns at sunrise and had perfect weather. We also got a bunch of traffic police to stop a bus for us so we didn’t have to hitchhike.

It was truly amazing.

PS: Now I know how you feel when 4 people are fast asleep on you: squished. :p

Leave a Reply

